USB Drives with U3 software

As most of you know there are many USB Drives to choose from. In recent weeks, we have discovered a USB drive that has U3 software attached to the drive. Why the big fuss? Well, as it turns out, by having this feature on the drive the USB drive becomes useless at a Birmingham Public Library. Here’s the scoop on why U3 is a problem:

“Recently, flash drive manufacturers have been adding pre-installed software to some USB flash drives. These pre-installed applications are executed directly from specially formatted USB flash drives. One example of this added software is U3 “smart” software.
By design, U3 software attempts to install a virtual drive on computer systems when inserted so that it can run a U3 program manager. The library does not allow users have to have administrative privileges to add or re-configure software on library machines. For this reason, USB flash drives with U3 or similar software will not function on our public access computers.”

In summary, if you have a drive like the one mentioned above you will need to remove the U3 software from it in order to use the USB on any of the library’s public computers. To remove the software from the USB, you will need to use a removal tool which is downloadable from www.u3.com . Once the software is removed you will be able to use your USB drive normally on any PC. As staff members, we are not able to remove this software from your drive.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “USB Drives with U3 software

  1. USB manufacturers that should stop putting this dim-witted U3 software on the USB drive. U3 being incompatible with so many programs is such a headache. I take U3 off ASAP.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s