Ditch Google??

Yes, you have read it. I am seriously considering ditching Google and going for a more sophisicated search engine. Not to say that I am going to totally stop using Google but I have found another search engine that has impressed my socks off. This time last week I would have never given a thought to abandoning my old friend Google but times are ‘achanging and even with technology we have to be subject to some change.

What has prompted me to make such drastic measures? Or a better question would be what search engine has enticed me with their offerings that they bring. The answer is:

http://www.ask.com

Since last week http://www.ask.com has changed dramatically. It is better known as Ask3D this week. Don’t try to use that as your URL. The URL has remain the same. 3D does not mean that you need red and blue glasses to view it. The 3D stands for the three dimensions of searching—query expression, investigating results, and digging deeply into content. Before you had to visit three different pages or websites to search all dimensions. Now it is all available on one page for your viewing pleasure.

snipit_image_proxy.jpg

Unique Features of Ask.com

  • A More Modern Homepage
  • Skins to Personalize your Homepage

These two features themselves are enough for me to warrant a change in search engines but if you don’t like all the frills that Ask.com offers consider the functionality of what Ask.com offers:

  • Basic Web Search
  • Image Search
  • Blog Search
  • Stock Search
  • Movie Search
  • Dictionary Search
  • Famous People Search
  • Conversions
  • Shopping Search
  • Weather Search

You can visit http://sp.ask.com/docs/about/site_features.shtml to see more features of this innovating search engine.

5 thoughts on “Ditch Google??

  1. Under the guise of “More Precise Ad Targeting” Google has created the most incredible spying machine that has ever existed on the face of the planet. They have recorded everything you have ever searched for and attached it to your IP address. In addition, if you use google adwords, gmail or other personalized services they have also added your complete information profile into the mix. So what can you do to keep from being tracked when using search engines? Click this story for more information..

  2. Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google,
    and found that it is really informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue this
    in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  3. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic but
    I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form?

    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m
    having trouble finding one? Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

